The Power of Affirmation

In the past, I often think of my shortcomings to be flaw and it needs to be fixed. It’s a bad thing and I don’t like it. Just little bit things like a zit or comedo or textures in skin feels like flaw. “I should have a clean skin like a glass”, like what I saw in influencer/celebrities/YouTubers, you name it. That’s what I thought. I made a high standard for myself, compared to what I’ve seen in media. This is the beautiful and wonderful girls. You, my dear, need to achieve this standard so you’re accepted by others. Even though my friends and family, of course never said it to me.. somehow those thoughts embedded in myself.

I was into filtered camera, that can make my skin looks flawless, bigger eyes, symmetrical shaped eyebrows, high pointed nose, blue eyes color. Everything that’s not me. But when I see that pictures, I feel oh that version of me is beautiful! I started to imagine to make up myself into that filtered picture. Some people said it was beautiful too, however some said it’s scary. It doesn’t look like you!

Alhamdulillah, now I learn to really accept myself after marriage. My husband really see me, with all this imperfections as perfect. You’re beautiful! Gorgeous! Even he often asked me to not send filtered selfie to him. “I want to see your bare face. I don’t like filtered one. I want to remember your natural face more.”

They said, “you need to learn self love first before anything”. But dear, like what a book said, it’s impossible to learn self love when no one show you how to do it. My husband, really improved and boosted my self love cause he loves me as I am. He show me to accept myself as I am. He said that I am beautiful and my flaws do not make me less. It’s just make you human.

Now, I don’t have that kind of thought anymore. I don’t use the filtered camera again. I feel really grateful to Allah Who gives me such an amazing husband who encourages and supports me a lot. Alhamdulillah. Thank you so much my dear. :*

Leave a comment